Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?


“My God, My God,

Why have you forsaken me?”

Matthew 27:46

One of the 7 last things Christ said before He died.  But why did Christ say these words?  “My God, My God, Why have you forsaken me?”

If Jesus Is God, (John 1:1 “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”)  Then why would He cry out to Himself?

These words He cried out are so depressing and sad…poetic yet some how familiar.  That’s right, Jesus quoted Psalms 22:1 which begins with, “My God, My God, why hast Thou forsaken Me?”. Jesus quoted this scripture so that we could understand He was fulfilling the Messianic prophecy  right there on the cross.  Psalms 22:11-18 says:

Be not far from me, for trouble is near; For there is none to help. Many bulls have surrounded me; Strong bulls of Bashan have encircled me.   They open wide their mouth at me,  As a ravening and a roaring lion.   I am poured out like water,  And all my bones are out of joint;   My heart is like wax;  It is melted within me.   My strength is dried up like a potsherd, And my tongue cleaves to my jaws;  And Thou dost lay me in the dust of death.   For dogs have surrounded me; A band of evildoers has encompassed me; They pierced my hands and my feet.  I can count all my bones. They look, they stare at me; They divide my garments among them, And for my clothing they cast lots.

His heart has been broken and melted inside him (v. 14).   During the crucifixion process, the blood loss causes the heart to beat harder and harder and become extremely fatigued.  Dehydration occurs (v. 15).  Verses 16-18 speak of piercing His hands and feet and dividing his clothing by casting lots.   And this is exactly what occurred in Matthew 27.

Psalm 22 was written about 600 years before Christ was even born. And at that time the Crucifixion hadn’t even been invented.  Actually, the Phoenicians come up with it and Rome borrowed the horrible way of execution from them.   So, therefore when Rome come to rule over Israel, it became the Roman means of capital punishment for all the Jews whose biblical means of execution was stoning.  But He had to prove His point.

But that still really wouldn’t tell us why He cried those words in the first place.  So now that we see where the words came from, let us see why the Almighty Omnipotent God, would say that.

In fact there are two reasons.

1. The bible says in Hebrews 4:15 that He was tempted the same as we are, but yet he still never sinned.  The stories of people all through out the bible like Job and David, when they felt that God had for some reason, left them in the dust.  Forgot them, forsaken them, betrayed them…they would cry out.  WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME?!  WHY WON”T YOU HELP ME?!  And we say things like that today.  Like God doesn’t care, or isn’t watching or helping you.  It seems like He walked you into the valley of the shadow of death and left you there.  You see God became flesh so that He can feel what you feel.  He became flesh and bones to go through the same temptations and the same agony you go through today.  When Christ was on the cross, He thought of you.  He thought of you when you cried out My God My God! Why have you forsaken me?  And when He thought of you, He had to feel the same way.  He suddenly felt alone…imagine, the Almighty King, desolate and alone.  He cries out…because our flesh cries out.  It’s something to think about.

2. The next reason He cried out was simply because The God who could never sin, despised sin, turned His back on sin…became sin.  When Jesus was in the garden of Gethsemane, He said, “father if it be thy will, let this cup pass from me.”  As an analogy, This cup was filled with the entire wrath of an omnipotent God.  The God who would punish ALL who was in the world and all who will be in the world, which ultimately be forever in damnation and in hell, was in this tiny cup.  That Jesus had no choice but to drink of.  All of it.  God had decided that no longer would He let HIS creation perish…He would become their sins, take all of their punishment, Just so they can have a chance in an eternal life with Him.  So He cried out, because suddenly He knew how it felt, to be one of us.  As He hung their on the cross, and He thought of us…God from heaven, became Human.  Filled with sin…and now on His way to a forever burning fire.  Even though God knew how the story would end, by resurrecting and winning the victory, He felt such a depression at that time on Himself, and for us…

To tell it like it is,  He cried those words…

!!!!!BECAUSE HE LOVES US!!!!!

Leave a Reply

